DAY 1: Christmas Vacation 2014

Ah, it’s day 1 of “Christmas Vacation” and it’s already getting crazy … what’s getting crazy? Well, that would be me, of course. We finally got the tree up and decorated last night. It was festive but I was a quasi-Grinch. I only feel slightly OK about it because I warned the family over dinner that there might be frustrated yelling … after all, THAT’S what happens when you decorate the tree, right?!?!

I was put over the top by these bead strings that we use instead of tinsel that, naturally, were all wound up and knotted together have 11 months in a baggie. That and trying to hike them around the back of the tree so I wouldn’t knock it over while leaning around to continue the decorating (because, you know, asking for help would’ve been too hard, dammit, and I shouldn’t have to ask … passive aggressive woman on the loose). Why am I sore all over like an older person today? Perhaps it is from half-holding onto the string for the blinds while McGyvering out over the tree for 15 minutes … while unwrapping beads! Psshhh, but whatever.

A soft snow greeted us this morning … and it’s the good kind … that doesn’t stick around at all. I did a nice medium-length run in the snowiness, which has both helped (mentally I’m a much better person with a run in the books for the day) but also hurt things (hey, idiot, doing 2 back-to-back runs that together total twice the amount of running I’ve done over the past 3 weeks isn’t a super good idea for the ol’ lady back).

But on a brighter note, it’s Nutcracker Night! I’m taking my bigger monsters out for a night at the theater. We’re all pretty psyched! Unfortunately I might be most psyched by the fact that this will be the first time I’m dressing “up” in quite some time so it’ll be the best I’ve looked all year!! Of course it’ll all come undone tomorrow morning when I schlep the dudes out the door for a brief stint at work, where I’ll look like I’ve been run through the dishwasher and then thrown up on. Watch out, harried and thrown together lady coming through!

15 magical days of Christmas Vacation to go.

About The Momster

The Momster is the mother of three little boys, living in North Carolina. A former bike racer, she currently works stupidly long hours in advertising and marketing, runs stupidly long distances for the sake of sanity and has made it her life mission to find Patience.
This entry was posted in Christmas 2014, Fashion - if you can call it that, Home Life, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

