It’s Fate People.

I have always been a believer in the power of Fate. I am not an extremely faith-based person but I do often find myself getting through “the worst of times” by giving into the power of fate and its role in how things do or don’t go down.

Now my belief in fate seems to be renewed and made stronger a couple times a month … recently I was pretty freaking happy that fate stepped in and I wasn’t running with my coworker/friend after work when I had a bathroom emergency on the trails … thank heavens our schedules were off by a few precious minutes! Now I certainly have friends who have been part of pit stops from back in my cycling days (you know who you are … remember when we figure out how to pee standing up in our spandex cycling shorts? That was an awesome day!) However, I haven’t crossed that personal barrier with any coworkers yet … and frankly I’m not sure if it’s time just yet.

As I sit in my house on this Saturday morning and listen to the rain pouring out of the leaf-filled gutters, I’m warm and toasty despite the low 40’s outside. I have a box of tissues at the ready for my never-ending head cold and a steamy cup of coffee right beside that. I can’t help but think of those folks doing the running race that I was supposed to be doing today … up in the Mountains … where it’s going to hit a high of 39 degrees today and where the snow plans to turn to rain just about when I’d be rounding mile 17 of the steep mountain trails. Woah!

Now, I made my decision to not race this weekend a couple weeks back as I’ve mentioned … training went off the rails for a few reasons (not important but I certainly am happy to go on a rant should someone request it!) Add to that, last night’s 3+ mile Trick-or-Treat-a-thon would’ve made for a pretty sore 4+ hour run and with all this precipitation, my tissues would’ve surely been soaked by mile 2 and THEN how would I have blown my nose every four minutes? Snot frozen to my face for four hours? No Thank you!

I am all about EPIC … but I think today’s Shut In is going to be a bit beyond what I can handle. Fate is what I’m chocking it all up to … as I get out the full contingent of Cars and Cars 2 vehicles for the Cars movie marathon with my favorite three little boys. I’ll create my own “epic” later today when I take a (much shorter) run in the freezing rain and tackle the wilds of the Target aisles in search of a few organizational bins … did you know that every year your kid was going to bring home a metric ton of arts/crafts/assignments/etc.? Yeah, we’re a “digital society” but paper is still going strong in the preschool and elementary school systems! Go trees!!

 

 

About The Momster

The Momster is the mother of three little boys, living in North Carolina. A former bike racer, she currently works stupidly long hours in advertising and marketing, runs stupidly long distances for the sake of sanity and has made it her life mission to find Patience.
This entry was posted in Halloween, Health & Wellness, Running, Shut In, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

